View All Subjects

6 days sober, first time trying in 26 years

created by: Greabes 2 weeks, 2 days ago

I have never tried to quit before because I thought I'm ok since I do good at work but it's caused 2 divorces and feels like most my life I've been drunk or hungover. I want to enjoy life without alcohol and get back into life and my wife deserves that also from me

by: Greabes 2 weeks, 2 days ago

if I'm not drinking then I'm taking zanax and never feeling much of life. these last 6 days I can't sleep at all. Hopefully that gets better soon

Congratulations, you're doing great. Expect changes. This is a big change in your mind as well as your body. You can do this. Keep in touch.

by: kkdad 2 weeks, 2 days ago

I hope I can sleep good soon. my mind just races all night and has made it rough. I tried otc sleep aid and didn't help at all and I don't want to keep doing that and become dependent on something else. makes me want to drink just to sleep good for 1 night

Wow six days, you are killing it !! I could never sleep when I first sobered up either (the many times) I found melatonin helped. It gets better! I had a breakthrough in finding real help when I switched from zoom meetings to in person meetings too. There is so much hope in the rooms of AA. Six days is a huge deal, keep it simple and take things one day at a time :)

by: MsKris221 2 weeks, 2 days ago
replying to MsKris221

I tried the melatonin last night and slept much better. thanks! day 7 is better!

by: Greabes 2 weeks, 1 day ago

I'm so emotional right now. I've never been here before and talked about it like this

replying to Greabes

Our emotions won't kill us but the drink will . Actually feeling feelings is part of the process don't suffer alone look for local AA meetings near you.

by: AussieDrunk 2 weeks, 2 days ago

Hey Greabes! Hope you’re still doing great! Still rooting for you!

by: MsKris221 1 week, 6 days ago
replying to MsKris221